Women's International Match Racing Association
News Detail

Women’s Finnish Match Racing National Championship
Silja (Lehtinen) Frost (FIN) has added 2017 National Champion to her 2017 World Champion title. With crew Mikaela Wulff and Noora Ruskola, Frost has won the 2017 Women’s Finnish Match Racing National Championship in Helsinki, Finland.

Silja Frost reigned supreme in the Women’s National Championship in match racing sailed last weekend at HSS in Helsinki with Elliott 6m boats. Frost hasn’t been sailing too much match racing lately, but when she has, she’s been doing well - like winning the Worlds in Lucy Macgregor’s team in Helsinki in June. In her team Frost had Mikaela Wulff and Noora Ruskola, who are normally concentrating on their 49er FX Olympic campaign for Tokyo. Noora was new to match racing, but Frost and Wulff have spent enough time on the Elliott and with match racing before and during the London Olympics, where they took bronze, with Silja Kanerva.

Frost went undefeated for the weekend, leaving the competition to vie for second place which was taken by the defending champion for the last two years, Marinella Laaksonen with her L2 Match Racing team. Laaksonen also sailed a very steady race with her crew, winning every match save for those sailed againts Frost. In third place was Daniela Rönnberg and crew, also from L2 Match Racing team.

It has been awhile since the nationals, open or women’s, were sailed with the Elliotts at HSS, so it took some time for many teams to adjust to the boats. Most match race regattas in Finland are sailed with J80’s at NJK, so it was a bit different for many. But in the end on Sunday afternoon everyone was again smiling and wishing to come back soon. In addition to HSS’ Elliotts, the other match race boats in Finland are J22’s in Wasa, J80’s at NJK and the SM40’s at HSS and NJK.

The final results were:

1 - Silja Frost, Mikaela Wulff, Noora Ruskola
2 - Marinella Laaksonen, Lotta Hokkonen, Marianna Kontulainen
3 - Daniela Rönnberg, Camilla Cedercreutz, Lisa Gerkman
4 - Jassi Skogman
5 - Peppi Karlemo
6 - Lilli Nevanlinna
7 - Karoliina Salonen
8 - Katri Saarenheimo

For more information:
Posted on Sep 25, 2017 by WIMRA Webmaster

Return to News Item List